Testimonials

Praise for The Last Cathar

 

United States/Canada

5.0 out of 5 stars

Great Historical Fiction!

March 26, 2016

If you are an historical fiction fan, this is a great book. I loved the narration and the time period. A well-written, interesting plot that has been researched to the detail. Ups and downs, twists and turns all keep the reader turning the pages. This is my first book by this author and highly recommend it!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

LOVE THIS BOOK

January 14, 2016

This is a great little book. Very readable. Hard to put down. This author has a knack of describing situations and characters without flowery and unnecessary words. She's true to the period and beautifully describes the smells and noises that would attack the senses. She really puts you in the moment. She doesn't use nonsense paragraphs to add to the pages, but fills every page with concise and focused storytelling ... and a great story it is and so very well-written! Cannot wait for a sequel!! 

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Really worth a read

January 30, 2016

There are so many books being published these days that lack quality. This one doesn't. The author has done enough research on The Cathar religion during the 1200s to make the plot very believable. It twists and turns with mystery, intrigue and even romance to keep the reader's attention. I found it difficult to put down once I started reading. This author also develops the characters so well you feel as if you know them and why they act as they do. I hope we hear more from Kate Riley. The ending of this book is perfect for a sequel.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

An absolute Must Read!

January 09, 2016

I could not put the book down. It is full of suspense, romance and a good historical read comparable to Jack Whyte. It would make a great screenplay for a movie. Can't wait for the second book!

 

 

United Kingdom

4.0 out of 5 stars 

Everything I Love in a Book

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 March 2018

This book reminded me a little of Kate Mosse - Labyrinth. Set in a fascinating century, mixing fiction with true fact. Very atmospheric, and gritty. Just the right mix of murder, mystery, love and betrayal. Loved the strength of the female characters and a touch of the supernatural.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars 

The Last Cathar

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 July 2018

I received this book in perfect condition, I enjoyed reading it. It was an easy book to read with plain language. Good story about this period in time. Lovely book to read a bit and continue later and pick up from when you left off. I recommend this book to anyone looking for a light read.

 

4.0 out of 5 stars

This was easy reading and put the Cathars into perspective for me

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 May 2018

This was easy reading and put the Cathars into perspective for me. So many books about the Cathars use different terminology and get caught up in the action and battles. If you want to understand the essence of the Cathars, this is a good book to do that. 

 

4.0 out of 5 stars

Gripping Tale

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 August 2018

The history of the Cathars is a fascinating story, and one can only wonder how the history of Europe may have been different if this more gentle religion had been adopted.
This is a well written historical novel with believable characters. 

 

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Lovely Read

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 November 2016

Verified Purchase

Having spent time in this area of France and seen the places mentioned in this novel I can say it really is a wonder filled landscape. The book was well written and very moving well worth 5 stars

 

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Excellent Read – couldn’t put it down towards the end

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 May 2016

Verified Purchase

An exciting story with enough basis in fact to make you think and wonder how much is true. A fascinating era in history of which many of us know very little.

 

 

Praise for The Greening of the Laurel

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

Excellent Read

June 1, 2020

Let me start by saying that I didn’t know what to expect when I opened the pages to the Greening of the Laurel. I was transported to a French countryside bathed with warmth, scents, herbs, and flowers. It was a meandering stroll that drew my attention to the smallest details, then led me to the principal characters of the story. The setting is the Languedoc region in France, early into the Second World War. As many of the husbands have died in the first world war conflict, farming has a strong matriarchal influence. This insignificant region also harbours a secret.

We become immersed in the lives of the families, and imperceptibly, the pace of the story and their relationships to each other hastens rapidly. We become drawn into the maelstrom of the Third Reich, the search for the Holy Grail, and the commitment of those who are the guardians of the secret.

The reader is taken from a pastoral setting to a hostile environment that is determined to acquire the knowledge of the Cathars, at any price.

The research of the era is impeccable, the imagery it evokes rings of truth, the story is engaging and leaves the reader breathless with a thirst for the next installment.